Unter Einschluss der Öffentlichkeit

VerhandelBar —

Jul — Oct

VerhandelBar, Sandstraße 47a

VerhandelBar - Unter Einschluss der Öffentlichkeit, 2024 © Foto: Fritz Bielmeier

As a public negotiation space, the VerhandelBar invites people to negotiate demolition and vacancy as an ecological and social problem.

A project by ARCH+, in cooperation between JustizzentrumErhalten/ AbbrechenAbbrechen, and PointofNoReturn

 

The construction industry is one of the key contributors to the climate crisis: the construction and use of buildings accounts for 40 percent of national greenhouse gas emissions. At the same time, many metropolitan areas lack affordable space for housing and culture. The project VerhandelBar – unter Einschluss der Öffentlichkeit counters this twofold challenge by showing the social and ecological potential that lies in the conversion and continued use of existing buildings. Using the demolition-threatened Criminal Justice Center on Nymphenburger Straße as a case study, civil society is called upon to imagine a new future for the building after its current function ceases at the end of 2025 as well as to discuss the issues of vacancy and demolition. After all, the environmentally damaging and speculative treatment of our built environment is a public matter which, by its very nature, must be negotiable.

The heart of the project is an artistic-architectural intervention, the VerhandelBar, which uses alternating exhibitions to publicly discuss stories of appropriation and opportunities for conversion in Munich. Mapping walks and performative-discursive events provide fundamental knowledge on the subject. The VerhandelBar regularly hosts a bar in cooperation with the artist collective TamTam and provides space to local civil society groups.

 

Opening:
Thursday, 18 July, 6 – 10 pm
City Councillor Paul Bickelbacher, on behalf of the Lord Mayor of the City of Munich; Anton Biebl, Head of the Department of Arts and Culture of the City of Munich; Public Art München; ARCH+; JustizzentrumErhalten/ AbbrechenAbbrechen and talks with local civil society groups on the needs and potentials of the city
Moderation: ARCH+, JustizzentrumErhalten/AbbrechenAbbrechen

Mapping walks:
Sendling: 23 July and 2 August
Westend: 23 August and 16 September

ThursdaysBar:
every Thursday, VerhandelBar: Sandstraße 47a, 80335 München

Guided tour:
25 July, 6 pm and upon request, VerhandelBar: Sandstraße 47a, 80335 München

Information on the further programme: verhandel-bar.de

Artistic direction:
ARCH+: Christian Hiller, Daniel Kuhnert, Alex Nehmer, Anh-Linh Ngo
JustizzentrumErhalten/ AbbrechenAbbrechen: Jakob Bahret, Laura Bruns, Jan Fries, Robert Philipps, Antonia Prohammer, Nikola Schiemann, Maria Schlüter, Leila Unland, Lena Willimek, Sabrina Witzlau
PointOfNoReturn: Nick Förster, Jonas Pauli, Matteo Pelagatti, Sophie Ramm, Niclas Reinke, Nikola Schiemann, Maria Schlüter, Janina Sieber, Leila Unland
Kommunikation: stadtstattstrand: Laura Bruns, Julia Klink, Fabian Gruber; ARCH+: Barbara Schindler
Graphic: Paul Voggenreiter
Web: Lana Wahlström
Bar: Tam Tam

Cooperation partner: Hans Sauer Stiftung

 

#publicartmuenchen

 

 

Veranstaltungen

Opening

VerhandelBar, Sandstraße 47a

Location

VerhandelBar, Sandstraße 47a

Karte

Unter Einschluss der Öffentlichkeit

VerhandelBar —

Jul — Okt

VerhandelBar, Sandstraße 47a

VerhandelBar - Unter Einschluss der Öffentlichkeit, 2024 © Foto: Fritz Bielmeier

Die VerhandelBar als öffentlicher Verhandlungsraum lädt dazu ein, Abriss und Leerstand als ökologisches und soziales Problem zu verhandeln.

Ein Projekt von ARCH+ in Kooperation mit der Initiative JustizzentrumErhalten/ AbbrechenAbbrechen und dem Kollektiv PointOfNoReturn

 

Die Baubranche ist einer der zentralen Treiber der Klimakrise: Auf die Errichtung und Nutzung von Gebäuden entfallen 40 Prozent der nationalen Treibhausgasemissionen. Zugleich fehlt es in vielen Ballungszentren an leistbarem Raum für Wohnen und Kultur. Dieser doppelten Herausforderung entgegnet das Projekt VerhandelBar – unter Einschluss der Öffentlichkeit, indem es das soziale und ökologische Potenzial offenlegt, das in der Um- und Weiternutzung von Bestandsgebäuden liegt. Am Beispiel des vom Abriss bedrohten Strafjustizzentrums in der Nymphenburger Straße wird die Stadtgesellschaft aufgerufen, eine neue Zukunft für den Bau nach dem Auszug der bisherigen Nutzung Ende 2025 zu imaginieren und die Themen Leerstand und Abriss zu diskutieren. Denn der klimaschädliche und spekulative Umgang mit unserer gebauten Umwelt ist eine öffentliche Angelegenheit, die ihrem Wesen nach verhandelbar sein muss.

Kern des Projekts bildet eine künstlerisch-architektonische Intervention, die VerhandelBar, die mit Wechselausstellungen Geschichten der Aneignung und Potenziale der Umnutzung in München öffentlich verhandelt. Kartierungsspaziergänge und performativ-diskursive Veranstaltungen liefern das Grundlagenwissen. Die VerhandelBar wird regelmäßig in Kooperation mit dem Künstlerkollektiv TamTam mit einem Barbetrieb bespielt sowie von lokalen Initiativen genutzt.

 

Eröffnung:
Donnerstag, 18. Juli, 18 – 22 Uhr
mit einer Begrüßung von Stadtrat Paul Bickelbacher in Vertretung des Oberbürgermeisters der Landeshaupstadt München; Anton Biebl, Kulturreferent der Landeshauptstadt München; Public Art München; ARCH+; JustizzentrumErhalten/ AbbrechenAbbrechen und Gesprächen mit lokalen zivilgesellschaftlichen Initiativen zu Bedarfen und Potenzialen der Stadt
Moderation ARCH+; JustizzentrumErhalten/ AbbrechenAbbrechen

Kartierungsspaziergänge:
Sendling: 23. Juli und 2. August
Westend: 23. August und 16. September

DonnerstagsBar:
jeden Donnerstag, VerhandelBar: Sandstraße 47a, 80335 München

Führung:
25. Juli, 18 Uhr und auf Anfrage, VerhandelBar: Sandstraße 47a, 80335 München

Informationen zum weiteren Programm: verhandel-bar.de

Künstlerische Leitung:
ARCH+: Christian Hiller, Daniel Kuhnert, Alex Nehmer, Anh-Linh Ngo
JustizzentrumErhalten/ AbbrechenAbbrechen: Jakob Bahret, Laura Bruns, Jan Fries, Robert Philipps, Antonia Prohammer, Nikola Schiemann, Maria Schlüter, Leila Unland, Lena Willimek, Sabrina Witzlau
PointOfNoReturn: Nick Förster, Jonas Pauli, Matteo Pelagatti, Sophie Ramm, Niclas Reinke, Nikola Schiemann, Maria Schlüter, Janina Sieber, Leila Unland
Kommunikation: stadtstattstrand: Laura Bruns, Julia Klink, Fabian Gruber; ARCH+: Barbara Schindler
Grafik: Paul Voggenreiter
Web: Lana Wahlström
Bar: Tam Tam

Kooperationspartnerin: Hans Sauer Stiftung

 

#publicartmuenchen

 

Veranstaltungen

Eröffnung

VerhandelBar, Sandstraße 47a

Ort

VerhandelBar, Sandstraße 47a