Bridge Sprout

Atelier Bow-Wow

1 Aug 20 — 31 Dec 22

Bank of the Isar on the Schwindinsel

You can see a wooden part of the bridge that only extends halfway over the Isar. The green Isar flows below, framed by densely leafy trees on a summer's day.

Temporary bridge installation „Bridge Sprout“ on the banks of the Isar in Munich © Foto: Christoph Knoch

The unusual, unique architecture of a walkable part of the bridge in the open air above the Isar creates width and the imagination of new mental spaces.

A wooden bridgehead over the Isar on Schwindinsel.

Atelier Bow-Wow has developed the “Bridge Sprout” project for the people of Munich and their river to enable the public space to be newly experienced. A wooden bridgehead extends over the small River Isar opposite the island of Schwindinsel. However, the bridge does not reach the bank of Schwindinsel, but rather breaks off half way across. On the side of Schwindinsel, this imaginary line is continued in the form of a wooden platform, which carefully blends into the nature protection area of Schwindinsel.

In its impression and in the material it uses, the temporary installation is a reminder of traditional wooden bridges in the Alps. Now partly walkable, the air space between the west bank and Schwindinsel creates a completely new experience. It also refers to the tradition of float-building in Munich and the old symbiosis between the River Isar and the material wood.

The project is also understood in the Japanese sense as a bow towards nature. Nature on Schwindinsel is treated with respect, with the help of an artistic intervention in the public space, that emphasises the character of the island, but does not interfere with it.

The installation enables different perspectives through a new experience of space. The unusual, even unique architecture of a walkable part of a bridge in the open air over the Isar creates expanse and provides the imagination with new intellectual room.

Atelier Bow-Wow is one of the most reputable architectural offices in Japan. It works at the interface between art and architecture. The team, consisting of Yoshiharu Tsukamoto and Momoyo Kaijima, lives and works in Tokyo. The art project was developed in collaboration with the Hannes Rössler architectural office.

Ort

Bank of the Isar on the Schwindinsel

80469 München

Bridge Sprout

Atelier Bow-Wow

1. Aug 20 — 31. Dez 22

Isarufer an der Schwindinsel

Man sieht einen hölzernen Brückenteil, der nur bis zur Hälfte über die Isar ragt. Darunter fliesst die grüne Isar, umrahmt von dicht belaubten Bäumen an einem Sommertag.

Temporäre Brückeninstallation „Bridge Sprout“ am Münchner Isarufer © Foto: Christoph Knoch

Die ungewöhnliche, einzigartige Architektur eines begehbaren Brückenteils im freien Luftraum über der Isar schafft Weite und die Imagination neuer gedanklicher Räume.

Ein hölzerner Brückenkopf über die Isar an der Schwindinsel.

Atelier Bow-Wow hat das Projekt „Bridge Sprout“, auf deutsch „Brücken Spross“ für die Münchner*innen und ihren Fluss entwickelt, um eine neue Erfahrung im öffentlichen Raum zu ermöglichen. Gegenüber der Schwindinsel ragt ein hölzerner Brückenkopf über die kleine Isar. Er erreicht das Ufer der Schwindinsel aber nicht, sondern bricht jäh auf halber Höhe ab. Auf der Seite der Schwindinsel wird diese gedankliche Linie in Form einer Holzplattform fortgeführt, die sich behutsam in das Naturschutzgebiet der Schwindinsel einfügt.

Die temporäre Installation orientiert sich in ihrer Anmutung und Materialität an traditionellen Holzbrücken in den Alpen und macht – teilweise begehbar – den Luftraum zwischen Westufer und Schwindinsel völlig neu erfahrbar. Dabei bezieht sie sich auch auf die Tradition der Flößerei in München und die alte Symbiose zwischen dem Fluss Isar und dem Material Holz.

Das Projekt versteht sich auch im japanischen Sinne als eine Verbeugung vor der Natur. Der Natur der Schwindinsel wird respektvoll begegnet, mithilfe einer künstlerischen Intervention im öffentlichen Raum, die den Inselcharakter betont, aber nicht antastet.

Die Installation ermöglicht andere Perspektiven durch eine neue Erfahrung von Raum. Die ungewöhnliche, einzigartige Architektur eines begehbaren Brückenteils im freien Luftraum über der Isar schafft Weite und die Imagination neuer gedanklicher Räume.

Atelier Bow-Wow ist eines der renommiertesten Architekturbüros Japans, die an der Schnittstelle zwischen Kunst und Architektur arbeiten. Das Team aus Yoshiharu Tsukamoto und Momoyo Kaijima lebt und arbeitet in Tokio. Das Kunstprojekt wurde in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Architekturbüro Hannes Rössler entwickelt.

Ort

Isarufer an der Schwindinsel

80469 München