Dwelling Munich

Charles Simonds

11 May — 30 Jul 17

urban space Munich

A small-format work of art can be seen on a ledge of a house. It shows tiny dwellings, in the Pueblo style, built of red clay and tiny bricks.

Dwellings arise spontaneously and unannounced in public space, in niches and situations of upheaval. © Foto: Maximilian Geuter

The Little People have accompanied the New York artist Charles Simonds for decades. For this imaginary population he builds tiny “Dwellings” all over the world.

At the invitation of the City of Munich, the New York artist Charles Simonds realizes the project “Dwelling Munich” from May to July 2017 – together with young people from Munich. Since the 1970s, Simonds has been building “Dwellings”, dwellings for the imaginary “Little People” in cities all over the world. They appear spontaneously and unannounced in public space, in niches and situations of upheaval, but they also surprise in commercial shop windows, on wall projections and on window sills. The artist consciously creates his works on the street. Simonds often works in neighborhoods where immigrant communities have found new homes. Because the idea of ​​the “Dwellings” deals equally with the topics “home”, “staying around” and “building”. The artistic action is part of a social strategy. The aim is to absorb the different sociology and culture of the respective place, also in personal contact with the people.

When Charles Simonds devotes a whole day to creating miniature landscapes out of differently colored clay, tiny bricks, red sand and willow sticks, passers-by stop and stop. It is often children who ask curiously what he is doing or whether they could spontaneously participate. Simonds not only allows this, but has made cooperation with children, young people and students part of his concept for Munich. Joint “dwellings” have already been created in Schwabing and in a workshop at the Technical University.

A project of art in public space Munich, curated by Beate Engl, Luise Horn (Kunstraum Munich) and Stephanie Weber (Städtische Galerie im Lenbachhaus). Graphic by Ibrahim Öztaş.

In cooperation with the Kunstraum Munich, the Städtische Galerie im Lenbachhaus, the Chair of Fine Arts Prof. Tina Haase at the Faculty of Architecture at the Technical University of Munich, the Munich City Library Hasenbergl, the Willy-Brandt-Gesamtschule, the Wittelsbacher Gymnasium and the Gisela Gymnasium.

Charles Simonds, born in 1945 in New York, lives and works in New York.

Impressions from Dwelling Munich

External content from Vimeo

This video blocked because you did not agree to the YouTube service in the Coocke banner. For data protection reasons, this video was not loaded. You can activate the video by clicking on the button below. This sends data to Vimeo and Vimeo will be activated for the entire website. Details can be found unter “Privacy”.

Watch video on YouTube

Dwelling Munich

Charles Simonds

11. Mai — 30. Jul 2017

Stadtraum München

Auf einem Mauervorsprung eines Hauses ist ein kleinformatiges Kunstwerk zu sehen. Es zeigt winzige Behausungen, im Pueblo-Stil, aus rotem Ton und kleinsten Ziegeln gebaut.

Dwellings entstehen spontan und unangekündigt im öffentlichen Raum, in Nischen und Umbruchsituationen. © Foto: Maximilian Geuter

Die Little People begleiten den New Yorker Künstler Charles Simonds seit Jahrzehnten. Für diese imaginäre Bevölkerung baut er in der ganzen Welt winzige Behausungen, „Dwellings“.

Auf Einladung der Landeshauptstadt München hat der New Yorker Künstler Charles Simonds von Mai bis Juli 2017 das Projekt „Dwelling Munich“ realisiert – gemeinsam mit Münchner Jugendlichen. Bereits seit den 1970er-Jahren baut Simonds „Dwellings“, Behausungen für die imaginäre Bevölkerung der „Little People“ in Städten auf der ganzen Welt. Sie entstehen spontan und unangekündigt im öffentlichen Raum, in Nischen und Umbruchsituationen, überraschen aber auch in kommerziellen Schaufenstern, auf Mauervorsprüngen und auf Fenstersimsen. Bewusst schafft der Künstler seine Werke auf der Straße. Oft arbeitet Simonds in Stadtvierteln, in denen eingewanderte Bevölkerungsgruppen ihr neues Zuhause gefunden haben. Denn die Idee der „Dwellings“ handelt gleichermaßen von den Themen „Zuhause“, „Verweilen“ und „Bauen“. Die künstlerische Handlung ist Teil einer sozialen Strategie. Ziel ist es, die unterschiedliche Soziologie und Kultur des jeweiligen Ortes aufzunehmen, auch im persönlichen Kontakt mit den Menschen.

Wenn sich Charles Simonds einen ganzen Tag lang der Schaffung von Miniaturlandschaften aus verschiedenfarbigem Ton, winzigen Ziegeln, rotem Sand und Weidenstöckchen widmet, bleiben immer wieder Passanten stehen. Oft sind es Kinder, die neugierig nachfragen, was er mache oder ob sie sich spontan beteiligen könnten. Simonds lässt dies nicht nur zu, sondern hat für München die Kooperation mit Kindern, Jugendlichen und Studierenden zum Teil seines Konzepts gemacht. In Schwabing und in einem Workshop an der Technischen Universität sind bereits gemeinsame „Dwellings“ entstanden.

Ein Projekt der Kunst im öffentlichen Raum München, kuratiert von Beate Engl, Luise Horn (Kunstraum München) und Stephanie Weber (Städtische Galerie im Lenbachhaus). Grafik von Ibrahim Öztaş.

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kunstraum München, der Städtischen Galerie im Lenbachhaus, dem Lehrstuhl für Bildende Kunst Prof. Tina Haase an der Fakultät für Architektur der Technischen Universität München, der Münchner Stadtbibliothek Hasenbergl sowie der Willy-Brandt-Gesamtschule, dem Wittelsbacher Gymnasium und dem Gisela-Gymnasium.

Impressionen von Dwelling Munich

Externer Inhalt von YouTube

Dieses Video blockiert, weil Sie dem Dienst YouTube im Coocke-Banner nicht zugestimmt hatten. Aus Datenschutzgründen wurde dieses Video deshalb nicht geladen. Sie können das Video mit einem Klick auf den Button unten aktivieren. Damit werden Daten an Youtube gesendet und Youtube wird für die gesamte Website freigeschaltet. Details finden Sie in der Datenschutzerklärung.

Video auf YouTube ansehen