Good buy, Reality!

Max Haarich

17 Jan—15 Mar 23

Billboard at Lenbachplatz

View of the billboard in front of trees and a historic house façade. The motif on the billboard exactly complements the section of the picture that is covered by the billboard, so that it seems as if one is looking through it.

Good buy, Reality! © Foto: Max Haarich

“Good buy, reality!” reflects the virtualization and commercialization of our lives in the context of digital worlds, but also invites us to appreciate shared moments.

The virtualisation and commercialisation of our lives is increasingly advancing. Virtual reality technology enables more and more realistic immersion in digital worlds. At the same time, non-fungible token (NFT) technology suddenly allows everything to be turned into a digital item – from digital art to fragments of real skyscrapers. Virtual reality and NFT technology come together in the idea of the metaverses, which has been pushed forward with billions in budgets. Metaverses are customisable digital realities in which digital goods can be presented, traded and consumed in the form of NFTs.

“Good Buy, Reality!” marks the beginning of Munich’s digital sell-out into metaverses. Two 25m² fragments of our common everyday life were each photographically isolated, stored as NFTs on a public blockchain, and turned into trade goods for metaverses. The billboards on the art island show two NFT sales offers, which can be accessed via the QR link shown. The NFT offers each include the exact reality cutout that would be seen behind the billboard if it were not covered by the offer. However, the perspective of the digital sections of reality is distorted, so that they only match the analogue reality for a very short time from a certain point.

Against the background of increasing virtualisation and commercialisation of our lives, the cross-media installation “Good Buy, Reality!” invites us to appreciate shared reality. Two such small moments of reality are artificially created in order to threaten their sale at the same time. As long as this sale is not completed, however, the supposedly all-commercialising NFT platform functions as a community-promoting community archive. In this way, the art installation emphasises our often underestimated personal responsibility and power vis-à-vis new technologies.

Max Haarich lives and works in Munich.

 

View of the billboard in front of the historic house façade. The motif on the billboard exactly complements the section of the picture that is covered by the billboard, so that it seems as if one is looking through it.
Good buy, Reality! © Foto: Max Haarich
View of the billboard in front of trees and a historic house façade. The motif on the billboard exactly complements the section of the picture that is covered by the billboard, so that it seems as if one is looking through it.
Good buy, Reality! © Foto: Max Haarich

Location

Billboard at Lenbachplatz

Lenbachplatz
80333 München

Karte

all Billboard motifs 2023

Good buy, Reality!

Max Haarich

17. Jan—15. Mär 23

Kunst-Insel am Lenbachplatz

Blick auf das Billboard vor Bäumen und einer historischen Häuserfassade. Das Motiv auf dem Billboard ergänzt exakt den Bildausschnitt, welcher durch das Billboard verdeckt ist, so dass es scheint, man sehe durch dieses hindurch

Good buy, Reality! © Foto: Max Haarich

“Good buy, Reality!” reflektiert die Virtualisierung und Kommerzialisierung unseres Lebens im Kontext digitaler Welten, lädt aber auch ein zum Wertschätzen gemeinsamer Momente.

Die Virtualisierung und Kommerzialisierung unseres Lebens schreitet zunehmend voran. Virtual-Reality-Technologie ermöglicht ein zunehmend realistisches Eintauchen in digitale Welten. Gleichzeitig erlaubt die Non-Fungible-Token-Technologie (NFT) plötzlich alles in ein digitales Gut zu verwandeln – von digitaler Kunst bis zu Fragmenten echter Wolkenkratzer. In der mit Milliarden-Budgets vorangetriebenen Idee der Metaversen kommen Virtual Reality und NFT-Technologie zusammen. Metaversen sind individuell gestaltbare digitale Realitäten, in denen man digitale Güter in Form von NFTs präsentieren, handeln und konsumieren kann.

Mit „Good Buy, Reality!“ beginnt der digitale Ausverkauf Münchens in die Metaversen. Je zwei 25m² große Fragmente unseres gemeinsamen Alltags wurden fotografisch isoliert, als NFTs auf einer öffentlichen Blockchain gespeichert, und zum Handelsgut für Metaversen gemacht. Die Billboards der Kunstinsel zeigen zwei NFT-Verkaufsangebote, die über den abgebildeten QR-Link erreichbar sind. Die NFT-Angebote umfassen jeweils exakt den Realitätsausschnitt, der hinter dem Billboard zu sehen wäre, wenn er nicht durch das Angebot verdeckt wäre. Jedoch sind die digitalen Realitätsausschnitte perspektivisch verzerrt, so dass sie nur von je einem bestimmten Punkt ganz kurz mit der analogen Realität übereinstimmen.

Vor dem Hintergrund einer zunehmenden Virtualisierung und Kommerzialisierung unseres Lebens lädt die cross-mediale Installation „Good Buy, Reality!“ zum Wertschätzen gemeinsamer Realität ein. Zwei solcher kleinen Realitätsmomente werden künstlich erzeugt um gleichzeitig ihren Verkauf anzudrohen. Solange dieser Verkauf jedoch nicht vollzogen wird, fungiert die vermeintlich alles-kommerzialisierende NFT-Plattform als gemeinschafts-förderndes Community-Archiv. Damit betont die Kunstinstallation unsere oft unterschätzte Eigenverantwortung und Macht gegenüber neuen Technologien.

Max Haarich lebt und arbeitet in München.

Blick auf das Billboard vor der historischen Häuserfassade. Das Motiv auf dem Billboard ergänzt exakt den Bildausschnitt, welcher durch das Billboard verdeckt ist, so dass es scheint, man sehe durch das Billboard hindurch
Good buy, Reality! © Foto: Max Haarich
Blick auf das Billboard vor Bäumen und einer historischen Häuserfassade. Das Motiv auf dem Billboard ergänzt exakt den Bildausschnitt, welcher durch das Billboard verdeckt ist, so dass es scheint, man sehe durch dieses hindurch
Good buy, Reality! © Foto: Max Haarich

Ort

Kunst-Insel am Lenbachplatz

Lenbachplatz
80333 München

Alle Billboard-Motive 2023